36 week growth ultrasound

Last week we had our last/final growth ultrasound until we meet little nugget. Our little guys is already 6 lbs, 12 ounces and in the 62 percentile.  The doctors estimate that he will be around 7-8lbs at birth, which is in line with his big brother.

All organs look like they’re developing appropriately.  The doctors feel confident that he will not be coming early, but on time with a c-section scheduled for 12/29.  Still doing weekly check-ups but so far so good.

People have been asking me how I’ve been doing.  The truth is that between the holidays, getting Liam’s big boy room set up, and closing out things at work, I have been so busy that I rarely dwell on Nugget’s diagnosis right now.  We feel more hopeful than ever that maybe the diagnosis is wrong, but the data driven person in me wouldn’t be surprised if he does.  And if he does, we will love him no matter what.

Regardless, it’s been a sweet season.  Friends and coworkers have been throwing showers.  And we randomly get moments of encouragement and sweet notes from friends.  I had coffee with another mom of a kiddo with Down syndrome, which was a big encouragement to me.

The truth is that there’s nothing we can do to control any of the situations in our lives.   So, I, the control freak, am learning to enjoy the moments as they come. And trusting that things will work out as God provides.

Leave a comment